Travelling to Vietnam? Read all updated requirements before you book.
The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar
The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar
The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar
The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar
The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar
The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar
The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar

Removed from saved list

6.2

Good

29 reviews

29 reviews

See map

7

Very good

Location rating score

Very good location - Inside city center
Popular neighborhood
Exceptional for walking
Walkable places
Dung Tailor

60 m

Innoviet

80 m

Bui Vien Street

100 m

Pham Ngu Lao street (backpack)

110 m

Saigon Love Lake

110 m

Popular landmarks
Ben Thanh Market

790 m

The Independence Palace

1.1 km

War Remnants Museum

1.3 km

Bitexco Financial Tower

1.3 km

A O Show - Lune Production

1.5 km

Closest landmarks
Saigon Tourist

90 m

Nha Khoa Hong

100 m

Luna gym

130 m

Kim Travel

140 m

Bobby Brewers

140 m

The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar

241/4 Pham Ngu Lao, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, 70000 - See map

Get your trip off to a great start with a stay at this property, which offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms. Strategically situated in District 1, allowing you access and proximity to local attractions and sights. Don't leave before paying a visit to the famous War Remnants Museum. As an added bonus, restaurant is provided on-site to conveniently serve your needs.

Show more

Highlights

Located in heart of Ho Chi Minh City

Airport transfer

Inside city center

120 meters to Bui Vien Street

Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

Facilities

Airport transfer

Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

Luggage storage

Breakfast [free]

Bar

Coffee shop

Restaurants

Tours

Your dates are popular among travelersUsers are booking a place in Ho Chi Minh City every 10 minutes on Agoda.com
Value for money6.3
Location rating7.0
Nearest airportTan Son Nhat International Airport (SGN)
Distance to airport6.8 km

Rooms available at The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar

Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
...
  • City view
  • 2 bunk beds
Enter dates to see prices
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
...
  • 2 bunk beds
Enter dates to see prices
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
...
  • 3 bunk beds
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe Double Room
...
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 queen bed
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Double Room
...
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Double Inner
...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Superior Double Bed Room
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices
      Room Assigned on Arrival
      ...
        Enter dates to see prices
        Basic Double Bed Room with No Window
        ...
          Enter dates to see prices

          Frequently asked questions

          What time is check-in and check-out at The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar?

          Check-in is from 02:00 PM, and check-out is until 11:00 AM. You may request early check-in or late check-out during booking, subject to availability. Guests checking in or out before or after the designated periods may be charged an additional fee. The hostel offers luggage storage to guests for before check-in and after check-out.

          How do I get to The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar?

          The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar is easy to access from the airport. In fact, you can even book your airport transfer in advance for greater peace of mind. Just use the "Let us know what you need" section of the booking page to let the hostel know you want to book a ride, and they will contact you via the Agoda messaging service.

          What is the smoking policy at The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar?

          The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar does not permit smoking in any of its rooms, but allows smoking in designated areas.

          What restaurants are nearby The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar?

          The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar’s neighborhood is District 1 which includes popular restaurants such as Ngon Restaurant, Pho Quynh and Cuc Gach Quan.

          What popular shopping places are close to The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar?

          The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar is located in District 1 area which features shopping places such as Ben Thanh Market, Benthanh Street Food Market and Vincom Center.

          What are popular attractions near The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar?

          The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar’s location in the District 1 neighborhood makes it close to famous attractions including Central Post Office, The Independence Palace and Saigon Notre Dame Cathedral.

          What popular natural sightseeing spots are close to The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar?

          The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar’s nearby natural sights include Can Gio Mangrove Biosphere Reserve and TransOcean located in the same District 1 area.

          Show more questions
          See map

          Explore the neighborhood

          What people love about The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar

          • 10

            Exceptional

            "I stayed here for 3 nights and it was great."

            Stephanie

            |

            January 22, 2020

          • 8.4

            Excellent
            Staff 

            "Friendly staff, great location, cheap price."

            Yuen

            |

            December 8, 2019

          • 8

            Very good
            Staff 

            "Great location, clean room, friendly staff."

            Yuen

            |

            December 8, 2019

          Property ranking|Compared to 4,513 Ho Chi Minh City properties
          See all rankings
          Location score
          7/10
          Service score
          6.6/10
          Value for money score
          6.3/10
          Cleanliness score
          5.8/10
          Better than
          80
          %
          of Ho Chi Minh City properties
          Better than
          79
          %
          of Ho Chi Minh City properties
          Better than
          78
          %
          of Ho Chi Minh City properties
          Better than
          77
          %
          of Ho Chi Minh City properties
          Overall rating:

          6.2

          Good
          29 reviews
          Cleanliness
          5.8
          Facilities
          5.4
          Location
          7.0
          Read all reviews >
          More about The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar

          More about The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar

          The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar

          See the best of Ho Chi Minh City with a stay at The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar, which puts you right in the city center amidst the many sights and landmarks. With its convenient location, you can easily access to the city's must-see destinations.
          The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar provides a range services and amenities to help make your stay more comfortable. Never be out of touch with your contacts, with free Wi-Fi offered throughout your stay. If you need a ride from or to the airport, the hostel can arrange it before your check-in date. Front desk services including luggage storage can assist with your needs.
          If you need, the tours can even help you book tickets and reservations at all the best shows and programs nearby. Please be advised that smoking is not allowed in the hostel to allow cleaner air for all guests. Smoking is limited to designated areas only, for the health and well-being of all guests and staff.
          Feel right at home during your stay at The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar. Some rooms at The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar are equipped with air conditioning for your convenience. The hostel also offers bottled water in some rooms for when you feel like it is needed. Knowing that bathroom amenities play an important role in increasing guests' satisfaction, the hostel provides toiletries and towels in some select rooms.


          Dining and things to do

          Nothing starts a morning better than a delicious free breakfast, which you'll always enjoy at The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar. Everyone loves a good cup of coffee! A coffee shop on-site means you can enjoy a cup of real, freshly brewed coffee every morning -- or anytime you feel like it. If you don't feel like going out to eat, you can always opt for the delicious dining options at the hostel. A night in at the hostel's bar can be as fun as a night out with your travel companions.


          Around the property

          The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar provides an excellent base for exploring the sights of Ho Chi Minh City in-depth. Experience local culture through architecture at Central Post Office located 1.4 km away. The best way to remember your time in Ho Chi Minh City is with a nice gift at Ben Thanh Market located about 790 m away.


          Reasons to stay here

          Rooms don't get much cheaper than here, being less than 84% of the city's accommodation.
          Know you'll get excellent dining options here, where past guests have rated onsite or nearby dining above 90% of the city's accommodation.
          It's hard to beat the room comfort here, which is rated higher than 90% of other accommodations in Ho Chi Minh City.

          Show more
          Amenities and facilities
          Review score
          Facilities

          5.4

          Languages spoken

          • English
          • Vietnamese

          Internet access

          • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!
          • Wi-Fi in public areas

          Things to do, ways to relax

          • Tours

          Dining, drinking, and snacking

          • Bar
          • Breakfast [free]
          • Coffee shop
          • Restaurants

          Services and conveniences

          • Elevator
          • Luggage storage
          • Smoke-free property
          • Smoking area

          Access

          • Pets allowed
          • Security [24-hour]

          Getting around

          • Airport transfer
          Location
          241/4 Pham Ngu Lao, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, 70000
          Good
          Location

          7

          Airports

          • Tan Son Nhat International Airport (SGN)
            6.8 km
          • Can Tho International Airport (VCA)
            131.7 km

          Public transportation

          • Saigon Railway Station
            2.4 km
          • Ben Xe Mien Dong Bus Station
            5.6 km

          Hospital or clinic

          • Nha Khoa Hong
            100 m

          Shopping

          • Ben Thanh Market
            790 m

          Convenience store

          • Family Mart
            370 m

          Cash withdrawal

          • ATM
            90 m
          What's nearby

          Popular landmarks

          • Ben Thanh Market
            790 m
          • The Independence Palace
            1.1 km
          • War Remnants Museum
            1.3 km
          • Bitexco Financial Tower
            1.3 km
          • A O Show - Lune Production
            1.5 km
          • Central Post Office
            1.5 km
          • Saigon Opera House (Ho Chi Minh Municipal Theater)
            1.5 km
          • Saigon Notre Dame Cathedral
            1.5 km
          • Ho Chi Minh Squares
            1.6 km
          • Cu Chi Tunnels
            37.3 km

          Nearby landmarks

          • Dung Tailor
            60 m
          • Innoviet
            80 m
          • Saigon Tourist
            90 m
          • Nha Khoa Hong
            100 m
          • Bui Vien Street
            100 m
          • Pham Ngu Lao street (backpack)
            110 m
          • Saigon Love Lake
            110 m
          • Sapa
            110 m
          • FFF phạm ngũ lão
            120 m
          • Luna gym
            130 m
          Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
          Property policies
          Children and extra beds

          Extra beds are dependent on the room you choose. Please check the individual room capacity for more details.

          All children are welcome.

          Infant 0-2 year(s)
          Stay for free if using existing bedding.
          Baby cot/crib may be requested directly from the property.
          Children 3-6 year(s)
          Stay for free if using existing bedding.
          If you need an extra bed, it will incur an additional charge.
          Guests 7 years and older are considered as adults
          Must use an extra bed which will incur an additional charge.
          Others
          • When booking more than 5 rooms, different policies and additional supplements may apply.
          Some helpful facts

          Check-in/Check-out

          • Check-in from14:00
          • Check-out until11:00

          The property

          • Number of rooms 12

          Reviews of The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar from real guests

          Provided by verified guests of Agoda
          6.2
          /
          10
          Good
          Cleanliness5.8
          Facilities5.4
          Location7.0
          Service6.6
          Value for money6.3
          High score for Ho Chi Minh City
          Rating
          9+ Exceptional (2)
          8-9 Excellent (4)
          7-8 Very Good (3)
          6-7 Good (1)
          <6 Below Expectation (5)
          Time of the year
          Mar - May (3)
          Jun - Aug (0)
          Sep - Nov (5)
          Dec - Feb (7)
          All guests (29)
          All room types
          All languages
          Showing 15 verified guest comments
          10.0
          Exceptional
          Stephanie from United States
          Couple
          Standard Double Room
          Stayed 5 nights in January 2020

          Fantastic place to stay! ”

          I stayed here for 3 nights and it was great. We had a private room with an ensuite and everything was very clean. The AC worked great and the bed was comfy. The breakfast was free and came with 3 options to choose( fruit, omelet, or fried eggs) along with tea. The staff was very friendly and the owner was great to talk to. Would highly recommend and for sure coming back!

          Reviewed January 22, 2020

          See room deals

          8.8
          Excellent
          Yun from Netherlands
          Couple
          Standard Double Room
          Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

          Excellent”

          The location is perfect because we are situated inside a little alley of the walking street, but we don’t hear any music noises at night. So there are many restaurants nearby and the attractions are within 15 min walking distance. The breakfast consists of fruits or eggs with bread, so you can choose one of them plus drinks. The staffs are very kind and helpful. The hostel has a pretty modern entrance and the rooms of the hostel seem also modern and minimalistic. However, the bathroom and toilet is super old and need some renovation because of leakages. Nevertheless, good price for location

          Reviewed March 19, 2019

          See room deals

          8.8
          Excellent
          Craig from United Kingdom
          Solo traveler
          1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
          Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

          Promising hostel”

          New hostel, off to a good start. The hospitality is great as is the location. Cleanliness could be a little better and I advised the hostel staff of this as they deserve to succeed. Would love to see a water filter or refill service advertised to guests. It is available I just had to ask. Many guests would stop buying plastic bottles if this were made clear. Breakfast was basic but don’t expect a lot when the hostel is cheap. Would stay again.

          Reviewed March 24, 2019

          See room deals

          8.4
          Excellent
          Yuen from Malaysia
          Couple
          Deluxe Double Room
          Stayed 3 nights in October 2019

          One of the best budget choice”

          Friendly staff, great location, cheap price.

          Reviewed December 08, 2019

          See room deals

          8.0
          Excellent
          Yuen from Malaysia
          Couple
          Deluxe Double Room
          Stayed 3 nights in October 2019

          Good place, good staff”

          Great location, clean room, friendly staff.

          Reviewed December 08, 2019

          See room deals

          7.6
          Very good
          Cuong from Vietnam
          Business traveler
          Deluxe Double Room
          Stayed 1 night in December 2019

          Not bad, can be improved.”

          Place close quite early. You can ring the bell and wait for the owner 5' to open it for you.

          Reviewed January 15, 2020

          See room deals

          6.4
          Good
          gerald
          Solo traveler
          1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
          Stayed 2 nights in November 2019

          Good”

          The hostel is located at the heart of backpackers area. Facilities are welll-maintained. It is also near the station of the Mekong Express bus

          Reviewed December 01, 2019

          See room deals

          4.4
          Supakorn from Thailand
          Solo traveler
          Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
          Stayed 1 night in May 2019

          It's just good location with out any amenities and facilities.”

          I was there in the dorm room. There's nothing just bed and blanket for sleep. If you traveled alone or backpack please avoid this hotel.

          Reviewed May 18, 2019

          See room deals

          Thank you for choosing to stay with us. As we listed, we're a $5 a night per bed hostel, not 5 stars hotel. Just like all other backpackers, you have to bring your own shampoo and shower gel. We provide a good comfy bed, pillow, blanket, AC and hot shower and breakfast in the morning. And we think with $5, we've done a pretty decent job. Good luck with your travel. TPOW Team.

          Responded August 29, 2019
          The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar
          3.2
          Dmitrii from Russia
          Solo traveler
          Standard Double Room
          Stayed 2 nights in October 2019

          BED BUGS AND HAMMERS”

          The hostel and the stay itself might be good, if there weren't 2 big points: 1. Bed bugs (yes, we realized at the last night here, that there were a lot of bed bugs in our bed. Firstly, we saw the bloodprints on the sheets, and then we found bugs, using flashlight at the night) - it is unacceptable for hotel or hostel. 2. Hammer sounds. I don't know where this sound came from - but every morning at 7 am approx - renovation begins - there were hammers and drill all loud, so it is impossible here to sleep after 7 am. The hostel staff couldn't help with any of these points. Although the staff were friendly, I don't recommend you to visit this hostel EVER.

          Reviewed October 22, 2019

          See room deals

          Hello Dmitrii, Firstly, we just want to say sorry for the bad experience. In relation to the bed bugs, We host many guests coming from different areas of the world, they might bring bed bugs/eggs to the room without our acknowledge. However it is quite unacceptable. We would move you to another room right after informed. However, we have not received any incident report. We have checked the camera in the lobby and we found you were pretty happy during your stay. When we check further in the evening, we saw you talked to another guest, that you probably thought that is a member of our staff (because he's Vietnamese). Secondly, the hammer and drill sounds came from another building (not ours) and it happened only in 2-3 days. We have talked to the contractor, but they still did it and please bear in mind, we have tried our best. Again, we're sorry for the bad experience during your stay, and thank you for your review. The POW Management

          Show more
          The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar
          2.0
          Dmitrii from Russia
          Solo traveler
          Standard Double Room
          Stayed 1 night in October 2019

          Bed bugs”

          Lot's of bed bugs, during the night i killed SIX of them. When i came to administrator, he just said - okay. So, be careful with that place.

          Reviewed October 22, 2019

          See room deals

          Hello Dmitrii, Firstly, we just want to say sorry for the bad experience. In relation to the bed bugs, We host many guests coming from different areas of the world, they might bring bed bugs/eggs to the room without our acknowledge. However it is quite unacceptable. We would move you to another room right after informed. However, we have not received any incident report. We have checked the camera in the lobby and we found you were pretty happy during your stay. When we check further in the evening, we saw you talked to another guest, that you probably thought that is a member of our staff (because he's Vietnamese). Secondly, the hammer and drill sounds came from another building (not ours) and it happened only in 2-3 days. We have talked to the contractor, but they still did it and please bear in mind, we have tried our best. Again, we're sorry for the bad experience during your stay, and thank you for your review. The POW Management

          Show more
          The Prince of Whales Hostel & Bar
          9.2
          Exceptional
          Marie from France
          Couple
          Standard Double Room
          Stayed 1 night in December 2019

          Exceptional”

          Le personnel est d'une gentillesse remarquable, nous nous étions trompées et avions réservé un jour plus tard et ils nous ont tout de même trouvé une chambre, puis pour continuer dans nos mésaventures nous avons oublié une trousse chez eux, ils ont eu la gentillesse de nous la renvoyer par la poste !

          Reviewed January 05, 2020

          See room deals

          5.6
          jinan from Vietnam
          Couple
          1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
          Stayed 1 night in December 2019

          不太好”

          a 订的四人间 安排到6人间 b 第二次住没有换床单 c 早点加一个面包片还收费 是资本主义国家

          Reviewed January 10, 2020

          See room deals

          8.0
          Excellent
          Cheolgu from South Korea
          Solo traveler
          1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
          Stayed 2 nights in January 2020

          위치가좋아요”

          위치가좋아요

          Reviewed July 24, 2022

          See room deals

          4.8
          byungkwan from South Korea
          Solo traveler
          1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
          Stayed 2 nights in December 2019

          물살 약해 환장”

          샤워 안 하고,손과 얼굴만 씻는 사람만 예약하시길 7~8층 건물인데,3층방 물살 약한 거 이해 불가.

          Reviewed December 21, 2019

          See room deals

          8.8
          Excellent
          Hoai from Vietnam
          Couple
          Standard Double Room
          Stayed 1 night in December 2019

          Đi về đêm”

          Bất tiện ở cửa chính khi về trễ phải bấm chuông gọi nhân viên ra mở cửa, từ trong ks đi khuya cũng hơ bất tiện.0

          Reviewed December 21, 2019

          See room deals

          This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

          Back to search results

          Back to room choices

          |

          Dismiss